“While Lovejoy claims Sorrow Plagues and his influences lie within the realm of black metal, it’s not where I’d place “Homecoming”; the album is almost too beautiful to exist in a sub-genre normally considered to be incredibly dark. It’s not a release I can imagine myself listening to regularly; rather, it’s an album you want to stick on and drift off with. The only downfall is that I think the tracks are rather long and drag out a fair bit. Sometimes it works to have long songs if you have enough variety to keep the listener engaged, but while most of “Homecoming” is a pleasant listen, there is a lot of unnecessary repetition on each track. Even so, however, I cannot ignore how impressive the musicianship really is.”

For the fans of: Deafheaven, Alcest

Find the full review at Rockfreaks.net here

 

