“The diverse structure of the album goes from the all-bruiser style of a song like “Beyond the Pale” to the masterful and thought-provoking musicianship heard in a song such as “It Will Always Be My Fault” which, while it has those crushing riffs, presents a mixture of shredding leads and rather beautiful solo melodies. Where I do struggle with this album is that the black metal side is quite overpowering and gets a bit tedious after a while. I love the all-out ferocity; the metallic hardcore elements truly win me over and there are moments that make me want to lose my shit. But the droning parts just go on a bit too long and essentially just don’t do it for me. I respect the fresh idea of trying something that I’m pretty sure hasn’t been done before, and I can imagine that this “twist” on hardcore and metal is actually going to be very popular. Personally, I’m just not ready to fully embrace it yet.”

Read the full review at Rockfreaks.net here